18 Must See Attractions in Pridnestrovie
The new park named after the Empress Catherine is locates In the very center of the capital of the republic. It is so symbolic that the park is named after the Russian Empress, who signed a decree that established Tiraspol. It consists of the de Volan square, capital seafront, Suvorov Square – the territory located behind the monument to A.V. Suvorov, as well as a contemporary fountain complex. Diversified recreation areas for various age categories of citizens and elements of modern comfortable infrastructure have been created in the park.
Suvorov Square is the heart of Tiraspol and Pridnestrovie. Around the square there is a monument to A.V. Suvorov, the square named after de Volan, the embankment, the Memorial of Glory, the buildings of the Palace of Children’s and Youth Creativity, the cinema and the Supreme Council. In Soviet times, it was called the Square of the Stalinist Constitution, later – the Square of Soviet Constitution. The square acquired its modern appearance in the 1970s during a large-scale reconstruction of the city centre. Military parades are held on Suvorov Square on major holidays.
This is the oldest building in the city and the only surviving part of the former Sredinnaya Fortress, the construction of which is considered the starting point of the history of Tiraspol. The Sredinnaya Fortress was laid down on June 22, 1793 with personal involvement of the commander Alexander Suvorov under the project of engineer-architect Franz De Wollant. The Church of St. Andrew the First-Called, three artillery parks, a military hospital, the commandant’s house, powder cellars, barracks, stables, ammunition and supplies depots were located on the territory of the fortress. In 1835, the Sredinnaya Fortress was abolished. Later, its buildings were badly damaged during the construction of the Suvorovskiy neighborhood of Tiraspol in the 1970s. To date, only the powder cellar of the St. Vladimir Bastion has survived from the fortress, which since 2014 houses the Museum of the History of the Tiraspol Fortress. In recent years, the powder cellar of the St. Vladimir Bastion has become a traditional place to start celebrations for the city day.
Pridnestrovie is known thanks to many attractions connected with grapes and wine, but wine and brandy factory “KVINT” became the true hallmark of the production of divin drinks in Pridnestrovie. KVINT factory in Tiraspol began its history in 1897, when a cleaning warehouse was built and started working on Vokzalnaya Street, where forty-degree grape vodka was prepared from wine material that was handed over by residents of surrounding villages. Here the production of divins (cognacs) began only four decades after the discovery — in 1938 the first cognac alcohols were put on aging. The richness of the soil, the unique climate, the complexity of the terrain and the proximity of the Dniester river create favourable conditions for obtaining environmentally friendly natural raw materials; modern equipment, unique recipes, advanced technologies, inspired work of KVINT masters and loyalty to age-old traditions allow to prepare excellent drinks that successfully compete with the products of prestigious world manufacturers. You can take a tour of the enterprise: the museum, galleries and storage. Even experienced tourists can be baffled by the stunning size and beauty of underground galleries, especially since the trip here is not complete without tasting.
Aquatir sturgeon complex, opened in 2006, is a unique enterprise for the production of natural black caviar, sterlet, Bester, Russian sturgeon and beluga. Fish farming takes place in recycling systems, which eliminates the impact of external factors.
The enterprise includes general-purpose fish-breeding facilities, a fish processing shop and a modern laboratory. The design capacity is from 50 to 80 tons of commercial fish and 5 tons of caviar per year. The productivity of the fish processing shop is 500 tons of products annually, and the range of the complex includes more than a hundred items.
In 2014, Aquatir was certified according to the FSSC 22000 system, which provides for the highest requirements in the food industry. The company’s products are exported to the USA, Romania, Great Britain, Germany, Japan, Indonesia, Estonia and other countries.
The Sheriff Sports complex is located at the entrance to Tiraspol from the Bender side. It covers an area of 50 hectares and includes three arenas, eight full-size training fields, a children’s football academy, a swimming pool with diving towers, tennis courts, a basketball field, a gym and a fitness room. The sports complex regularly hosts football matches of domestic championships and European cups, international youth tournaments.
The main arena is the home stadium of Sheriff Football Club. In its long history, it has managed to host many famous teams: Tottenham Hotspur (pictured below), Olympique de Marseille, Spartak Moscow and Lokomotiv Moscow, Shakhtar Donetsk, Dynamo Kyiv, Dutch and Austrian national teams.
For fans of lawn tennis, next to the training fields, there is a modern tennis club with 12 courts, including 4 indoor ones. The Olympic-level indoor swimming pool has the necessary infrastructure not only for classical swimming, but also diving, water polo, synchronous swimming.
The Green Market in Tiraspol has more than 220-year history, during which its infrastructure has changed radically. Today it is a modern shopping complex with air-conditioned rooms, elevators and escalators, underground and surface parking, and a saving irrigation system in hot summer and heated tents in winter.
Lovers of history, in particular the castle-fortification part of it, will be pleased with the medieval Turkish fortress. The fortification complex is the tourist dominant of Pridnestrovie, with a total area of about 67 ha. The fortress was built according to the design of the Turkish architect Khoja Sinan on the model of Western European fortresses of the bastion type. According to reliable historical data, the fortress was erected very quickly — in less than two years — from 1538 to 1539. From the vicinity of Gura-Bykului village, sawn limestone was delivered to build the fortress. The fortress was divided into upper, lower parts and a citadel. A high earthen rampart and a deep moat around the perimeter, which was never filled with water, surrounded it. The main tourist attraction of the fortification complex is the Citadel or “Castle”. It has a square configuration and is equipped with eight towers: “Gate”, “Medial”, “Prison”, “Polygonal”, and the rest are assigned sequential numbers. Bendery Fortress was the place and the scene of joint struggle of the peoples against the Turkish rule in several Russian-Turkish wars of XVIII – XIX centuries. The Russian troops took it three times.
Bendery Military Historical Memorial Complex was opened on October 7, 2008. It was erected on the site of an old military cemetery where the remains of many soldiers of the Russian Imperial Army who were killed in the wars of the 18th – 20th centuries were buried. A massive cross of black granite was erected in the center of the memorial as a symbol of faith and repose for all who are buried there. The entrance to the complex decorated in the form of a colonnade, in front of which there is a monument to G.A. Potemkin-Tavricheski –
famous Russian statesman. Behind the colonnade there are three paths across the territory of the complex: on the left – to the Historical
Sector, on the right – to the Foreign Sector. The middle path leads to the Central Cross and the Church of the Icon-Bearing Image of Jesus Christ. This path from the Colonnade to the Cross is the Generals Alley.
Six km south of Tiraspol in the village of Kitskani, we find one of the oldest monasteries, founded in 1864 by the inokius of Nyametskaya Moldavian Lavra. On the territory of the monastery, there are four temples: the Assumption Church (winter), the Saint Ascension Cathedral (summer), the Nicholas Church (seminary) and the Cross Erection Church (refectory). A beautiful oak alley leads to the monastery, and figures of novices are carved in the tree trunks. Here, in addition to temples and fraternal cells, there is a Church Museum, a hotel for pilgrims, a library that stores ancient books that have survived to the present day, documents and miniatures of the XV-XIX century, as well as an icon-painting workshop, a wine cellar and monastic wine. The five-tiered monastery bell tower is the highest in Moldova and has a height of 69 meters. From its top, you can enjoy an amazing view of the picturesque surroundings. From here, you can see the Kitskani bridgehead — a strategic bridgehead of Soviet troops on the west bank of Dniester. About 3 km away from the village on the highest point of the Kitskani bridgehead, a memorial to the fallen in the Iasi-Chisinau operation of 1944 was erected. On May 9, 1972 on the holiday of the Great Victory, a monument to glory was unveiled on the Kitskani Heights.
35-year-old sculptor Dmitry Kirillovich Rodin, originally from Russia, Penza region, in 1953, initiated the creation of an unusual Park in the village. The idea of this park came to him after he saw the old Trinity icon by Andrey Rublev, which has a complex symbolism. Dmitry Rodin began to experiment in the courtyard of his own house. Here a small pond, a bridge, a gazebo appeared, various trees and shrubs were planted, and of course a fountain was set up. He started implementing his ideas in the early 70’s and worked tirelessly until the early 80’s. The park, as a result, was transformed. Several ponds with a concrete base, channels, bridges, a rotunda, a Swan Palace, where swan couples lived, swimming during the day among the water lilies, appeared in it. Scenic boulders were installed, a large hill was embanked in the centre of the park and a rock was erected on it. Most importantly, the park was filled with sculptures. Later, there was first one grotto, then the second, which, however, the artist did not have time to finish. Let us just say about the main and unusual thing immediately. Grottoes and sculptures of the park are cast out of concrete and stylized as natural stone. However, the Park is interesting not only for that. The whole idea of the Park is based on a complex symbolism of the unity of the main elements of nature – earth (stone), water, light (fire), united by the unquenchable spirit of art. The water of ponds and fountains, which reflected all these rocks and sculptures, was very important.
In 1988, former President of the Tiligul football club Grigory Korzun founded a private Museum in the village of Ternovka with a unique collection of alcoholic beverages. It now claims a place in the Guinness Book of records. With the growth of the collection, a special building with a height of 28 meters was built for the Museum, resembling a bottle in shape. Inside there are four floors, five rooms decorated with carvings, and over 10 thousand types of bottles from 105 countries of the world.
The collection is surprisingly diverse: from the tiniest items, such as a bottle from Mexico in the form of a cartridge with 10 grams of whiskey, to a huge pot-bellied bottle with Ukrainian gorilka. The bottle is plugged with corncob and holds 25 litres of drink.
The museum holds bottles of the most bizarre shapes: in the form of a cigar, light bulb, nesting dolls, weapons, trains, and even busts of famous figures, such as Peter the Great, which contains 7 litres of Russian vodka. There are also special rarities – the mead of 1882 or the cognac of 1852, a bottle of which sits on a separate stand surrounded by crystal wine glasses.
The Museum has two tasting rooms: four thousand bottles are located in their honeycomb-like walls.
In 1955, the first hydropower power plant was launched on the Dniester River – the Dubossary HPP. Since then, it has been uninterruptedly supplying electricity to Pridnestrovie.
Enterprises from all over the Soviet Union helped to build the plant in Dubossary. Thousands of people of more than thirty nationalities worked at a construction that lasted five years. The commissioning of the Dubossary HPP initiated the creation of a centralized electricity supply in this region of the USSR.
In 1977, Dubossary HPP was presented at the Exhibition of National Economy Achievements of the USSR as a power plant of high reliability and automation. The HPP team was included in the Republican Book of Honour of Leading Enterprises, and the power plant was included in the all-Union tourist route.
Dubossary reservoir is adjacent to the dam of the hydropower plant. It is one of the most picturesque places in the whole area. The rich nature and picturesque views invariably attract many tourists.
Yagorlyk nature reserve is the only nature reserve in Pridnestrovie located in Dubossary district. Its value lies in the fact that it is home to many rare and often already endangered species of plants, as well as 180 species of zooplankton and 29 species of rare fish. The reserve is located in the lower reaches of the Yagorlyk River, which was flooded because of the construction of the Dubossary hydroelectric power station. Because of flooding, the picturesque Goyan Bay was formed. The shores of the Bay are covered with protected forest, along the winding paths of which you can climb to the village of Doibani. Walking through the forest, you can find Soviet sculptures overgrown with bushes and resembling the remains of some extra-terrestrial civilization. On the hill above the bay, there is an observation tower, which offers a beautiful view of the reserve and its surroundings.
Stroentsy is a small village in the North of Pridnestrovie, where you can feel the connection between time and eternity of nature as nowhere else. Secrets and legends surround this picturesque area. The local natural landscape with a small river with waterfalls and numerous springs, decorated in folk style, harmoniously fit in it, impresses guests and tourists with its beauty. Here you will find a fascinating journey to the past, where you will be able to plunge into the rich heritage of our ancestors and touch the places where Prince Wittgenstein set his foot, where the great Russian commander Rumyantsev-Zadunaysky was born. Here you can visit the old historical monument “Watermill” and watch the process of flour production on equipment installed at the end of the XIX century.
Sanatorium “Dniester” is the oldest health resort in the region, known far beyond it. Due to its good geographical location, beautiful mountain landscape and mild climate, the resort regularly receives thousands of people who want to improve their health.
Kamenka became famous as the first vine-healing resort of the southwest of the Russian Empire as early as in the 1870s. Upon the invitation of the grandson of P.H. Wittgenstein Prince Fyodor Lvovich, Austrian builders erected a two-story resort house in the park of Kamenka, which housed a buffet with a restaurant, reading room, billiard room, dance hall and living quarters. Small resort cottages were built nearby.
The revival of health resort in Kamenka began in the 1930s. In 1935, the first sanatorium in the Moldavian Autonomous SSR was inaugurated here. In 1976, a new sanatorium complex was commissioned on the territory of the resort. It consists of two buildings for 450 beds, medical offices, swimming pools and medicinal baths, a dining room, which can accommodate up to six hundred vacationers, a concert hall, a library, as well as other facilities. On all sides, the resort is surrounded by a large parkland.
Today sanatorium “Dniester” is one of the most modern, technically equipped health facilities of the region, where they practice modern methods of treatment and diagnostics. To improve the health of tourists, therapeutic baths, including radon baths, all types of therapeutic massage, and various types of therapy are used.
The sanatorium has its own drinking pump room (a special pavilion, equipped over a mineral water well) with cold and warm mineral healing water “Dniestreanka”.
Today, the main, former home park has become the town’s public garden. Children’s rides, summer variety are built on its grounds. In the western part of the park, there is a memorial to the fallen of World War II. It is here that many cultural events are held. The famous stone rotunda in the centre of the park was destroyed. Fortunately, there are still a couple of bridges over the now dry channels, with openwork cast-iron fences. Passing on one of them, you get to the territory of the winery. Now it is fenced and protected, restoration work has begun there. The second, lower, park is the territory of the sanatorium “Dniester”. The park is very beautiful and well maintained. Many interesting and unusual sculptures adorn the Park along its alleys.
Rashkov natural complex occupies 123 hectares. If you are fed up with bad news, traffic jams, dust and noise, floods – it is time to get out to nature near the village of Rashkov. The western lands of the “Red Mountain” tract with abundant karst deposits are included in its natural complex. Over the centuries, the karst formed a powerful wall here, which was made like a porous sponge by numerous karst voids. On one side of the wall, there is a cliff with an approximate height of 50 m. The beautiful play of the sun and karst grains of sand here will delight you, and the caste fault, whose width is only 5 m, depth – 50, and length – 500 m, will marvel you. It is very cold at the bottom of this fault; the snow here keeps almost all year round. Rascov has many more attractions, such as the spring “Mistress’s Source”. Speaking of the source, it is impossible not to remember the beautiful ancient legend about the beauty Domnica Ruxanda and her husband Timush Khmelnytsky: when her husband died, Ruxanda mourned him for a long time in the Rahskov Tower, so that a whole spring was formed out of her tears. The water from this spring is famous for being always very cold. You can also hear such names of the source as “Panska Krynitsa” or “Izvorul Domnitei”. This spring is located near the synagogue, so it is almost impossible to pass it. Its watercourse is formed by the Dniester fault.