Kamenka History

Kamenka district is located in the extreme north of Pridnestrovie.

At the end of the 14th century, these lands became part of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, after the unification of Lithuania with Poland – the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. The center of the district, the town of Kamenka, was founded two centuries later. Records of Kamenka were found in documents of 1608 since when the town has been tracing its history.

In 1793, as a result of the second division of the Commonwealth, the lands of northern Pridnestrovie were transferred to the Russian Empire. 12 years later, the town of Kamenka was acquired by the famous Russian prince P.Kh. Wittgenstein. His name is associated with the transformation of Kamenka into a highly developed center of winemaking. At that time, the foundations of the region’s modern specialization were laid – gardening, vegetable growing, viticulture, and winemaking. With the descendants of the Prince, Kamenka also gains its fame as a grape juice treatment resort.

In the Soviet time, the area continued its growth and development. In 1958, the first products of the famous Kamenka canning factory came out; in the same year, there started the first in the USSR state-farm of horticulture and viticulture.

Being one of the most picturesque places in Pridnestrovie, the present-day Kamenka district keeps attracting tourists from Pridnestrovie and beyond. It is here that the oldest rural settlement in Pridnestrovie – Rashkovo – is located, which dates back to 1402.

The population of Kamenka and its district is 21,000 people.